Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS
Parents Students Community Employees

Twitter
Guidance & Counseling/Social Work
Additional Pages:
Board Approved Agencies

The Weslaco ISD counseling department follows the Texas Comprehensive Developmental Guidance and Counseling Program, which is an integral part of the total educational program. It provides a systematic, planned approach for helping all students acquire and apply basic life skills by making optimal use of special knowledge and skills of school counselors.

This program is based on four components, which are as follows:

Guidance Curriculum-the purpose of the guidance curriculum is to help students acquire age-appropriate knowledge and skills within the scope of the following content areas: self confidence, development, motivation to achieve, decision making, goal setting, planning, problem solving skills, interprestonal effectiveness, and responsible behavior.

Responsive Services-the purpose of the responsive services component is to intervene on behalf of those students whose immediate personal concerns or problems put their continued personal-social, career and/or educational development at risk.

Indiviual Planning- the purpose of the individual planning system is to guide all students as they plan, monitor, and manage their own educational career and personal social development.

Systems Support-this component describes services and amanagement activities which indirectly benefit students.

The WISD Guidance & Counseling/Social Work mission is to implement a comprehensive developmental guidance and counseling program for our students in grades Pre-K - 12 promoting student success through focus on academic achievement, prevention, and intervention activities, advocacy and social/emotional and career developement to meet the needs of the students and community of WISD.

The comprehensive development guidance and counseling program model is embedded into the WISD academic curriculum and covers these strands:

  • Self-knowledge and acceptance
  • Interpersonal and communication skills
  • Conflict resolution
  • Decision making/problem solving
  • Motivation to acheive
  • Goal setting
  • Career planning

We encourage you to make an appointment with your student's counselor to view the guidance curriculum and discuss what you can do together to create the most successful educational experience possible.

WISD Directory

Counselors /Social Workers  

HIGH SCHOOLS

Weslaco East High School (956) 969-6950

Diana Reyna - ART Ext. 32218  Email: dreyna@wisd.us

Stephanie Inlow - DE Ext. 32233 Email: sinlow@wisd.us

Carey Boleach - TECH Ext. 36959 Email: cboleach@wisd.us

Olga Garza - LAW Ext. 32219 Email: olgarza@wisd.us

Elvira Martinez - HS  Ext. 32211 Email: emartine@wisd.us

Nancy Ortiz - BUS Ext. 32213 Email: nortiz@wisd.us

Zalinda Rodriguez - Social Worker Ext. 32221 Email:zrodrigue@wisd.us

Weslaco High School (956) 969-6700

Caridad Salinas - BUS Ext. 36824 Email: casalinas@wisd.us

Laura Villarreal - LAW Ext. 36674 Email: livillar@wisd.us

Rosanna Olivarez - DE Ext. 36679 Email: rolivarez@wisd.us 

Eunice Leija - HED Ext. 36826 Email: eleija@wisd.us

Patricia Gonzalez - TECH Ext. 36830 Email: pgonzales@wisd.us

Alfredo Aguilera - HS Ext. 36832 Email: aaguilera@wisd.us

Liza Juarez - ART Ext. 36828 Email: ljuarez@wisd.us

Dr. Tom Murphy - College Readiness Ext. 36895 Email: tmurphy@wisd.us

Elva Rey Marroquin - Social Worker Ext. 36827 Email: emarroqu@wisd.us

Adriana Cantu - GEAR UP Ext. 33428 Email: adcantu@wisd.us

Christina Rodriguez - GEAR UP Ext. 33289 Email: crodriguez@wisd.us 

Early College High School (956) 969-6742 

Melinda Ortiz - Counselor  Ext. 30152 Email: msosaortiz@wisd.us

South Palm Gardens  (956) 969-6621

Cecilia Beccera Zamora - Counselor Ext. 32013 Email: cbecerra@wisd.us

Araceli Mireles - Social Worker Ext. 32005 Email: armireles@wisd.us

MIDDLE SCHOOLS

Beartiz Garza Middle School (956) 969-6774

Lina Solis - Counselor Ext. 34027 Email: lmsolis@wisd.us

Dora Alaniz - Counselor Ext. 34012 Email: dalaniz@wisd.us

Iris Hernandez - Social Worker Ext. 34028 Email: ihernand@wisd.us

Mary Hoge Middle School (956) 969-6730

Zeida Rodriguez - Counselor Ext. 34604 Email: zrodriguez@wisd.us

Sylvia Kromer - Counselor Ext. 34613 Email: skromer@wisd.us

Alicia Solis - Social Worker Ext. 34612 Email: asolis@wisd.us

Cuellar Middle School (956) 969-6730

Christina Vasquez - Counselor Ext. 34515 Email: cvasquez@wisd.us

Elisa Martinez - Counselor Ext. 34514 Email: elmartin@wisd.us

Nelda Torres - Social Worker Ext. 34516 Email: netorres@wisd.us

Central Middle School (956) 969-6720

Enrique Weaver - Counselor Ext. 34263 Email: eweaver@wisd.us

Jennifer Acosta - Counselor Ext. 34269 Email: jcacosta@wisd.us

Cathy Garcia - Social Worker Ext. 34256 Email: catgarcia@wisd.us

ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS

Raul Gonzalez Elementary - (956) 969-6760

 Rosie Maldonado – Counselor - Ext. 37263 Email: rmaldona@wisd.us

Carmen Jimenez – Counselor - Ext. 37262 Email: cjimenez@wisd.us

Rudy Silva Elementary (956) 969-6790

Marlene Caballero – Counselor - Ext. 37410 Email: macaballer@wisd.us

Diana Garza – Counselor -  Ext. 37409 Email: dgarza@wisd.us

Cleckler-Heald Elementary - (956) 969-6888

Mayra Rios –Mejia – Counselor - Ext. 39719 Email: mrios@wisd.us

Linda Abrego – Counselor - Ext. 39720 Email: labrego@wisd.us

Memorial Elementary – (956) 969-6780

Dr. Veronica Alonzo – Counselor - Ext. 39821 Email: valonzo@wisd.us

Juan Carlos Casanova – Counselor - Ext. 39820 Email: jcasanova@wisd.us

Dr. RE Margo Elementary – (956) 969-6800

Cynthia Perez – Counselor – Ext. 37783 Email: cperez@wisd.us

Mario Ybarra Elementary – (956) 969-6587

Myra Rodriguez Hough – Counselor – Ext. 37935 Email: mhough@wisd.us

A.N. (Tony) Rico Elementary – (956) 969-6815

Dora Gonzalez – Counselor - Ext. 36362 Email: dgonzalez@wisd.us

Melissa Coronado – Counselor - Ext. 36360 Email: mcoronado@wisd.us

North Bridge Elementary – (956) 969-6810

Viviana Cavazos – Counselor - Ext. 37106 Email: vcavazos@wisd.us

Martha Garcia – Counselor - Ext. 37110 Email: magacia@wisd.us

F. D. Roosevelt Elementary – (956) 969-6750

Juanita Sarmiento – Counselor - Ext. 30283  Email: jsarmiento@wisd.us

Airport Drive Elementary – (956) 969-6770

Melly Olivarez – Counselor - Ext. 39515 Email: molivare@wisd.us

Debra Woodard – Counselor - Ext. 39514 Email: dwoodard@wisd.us

Sam Houston Elementary – (956) 969-6740 

Dina Davila – Counselor - Ext. 37564 Email: ddavila@wisd.us

Special Education Department - (956) 969-6822 

Beatriz  Aguilar- Spec.  Ed.  Counselor - Ext. 30532 Email: beaguilar@wisd.us

Silvia Navarez – Spec. Ed Counselor - Ext. 30529 Email: snevarez@wisd.us

Letty Padilla – Spec Ed. Counselor – Ext. 30531 Email: lpadilla@wisd.us

Juan Miguel Saiz  Picazo – Spec Ed. Counselor - Ext. 30530 Email: jmsaizpicazo@wisd.us

Abby Munoz – School Psychologist – Ext. 30521 Email: abmunoz@wisd.us 

Joe Calvillo CATE Complex – (956) 969-6703

Rosie Perez – Career Development Advisor - Ext. 32104 Email: rperez@wisd.us

Horton AEP – (956) 969-6916

Rolando Zavala – College Readiness - Ext. 30208 Email: rzavala@wisd.us

Mari Alvarado – Social Worker - Ext. 30204 Email: maralvard@wisd.us

Board Approved Agencies

Program Overview

FAQ'S

WISD Testing Calendar

Graduation Requirements

Elementary Counselors

Resources for Students

Focus on Your Future

Secondary Counselors

Role of the School Counselor

Websites/Resources:

Project Wisdom

Texas Suicide Prevention

 

 

Back to Top
Footer Address